Starts in Rochdale on September 11th, finishes in London a week later

Tour of Britain 2010 route revealed

SweetSpot, organiser of The Tour of Britain has unveiled the route for the 2010 event, which will take place across eight days of racing from 11th to the 18th September.

The launch event, which took place at The London Transport Museum in Covent Garden, saw the race route unveiled to audience of invited guests and industry insiders.

The 2010 Tour of Britain will start in the North West of England on Saturday September 11th and finish in London the following weekend on Saturday September 18th, giving Britain’s cycling fans a first chance to see Team Sky take on the world’s best on British roads.

The 2010 event visits several established venues for The Tour of Britain, but also visits several regions and venues for the first time, visiting Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex in the East of England, and revisiting Wales for the first time since the revival of the event in 2004.

“This year’s event sees The Tour of Britain race into several new regional venues, and for the first time ever we will have two stages take place in the East of England region, bringing the race to new audiences in Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex,” said Michael Bennett, technical director of The Tour of Britain. “We are delighted to be bringing the race back into Wales this year and look forward to a tough stage into Swansea this year. On the way from the Grand Depart to the final stage in London, riders will face tough routes and intense competition, while taking in some breathtaking views of our wonderful country.”

96 of the world’s top cyclists from 16 top professional international teams will take on the challenge of The Tour of Britain in 2010, with a route designed to deliver a worthy overall winner to join the ranks of previous yellow jerseys such as Edvald Boasson Hagen, Geoffroy Lequatre, Romain Feillu and Nick Nuyens.

The 2010 Route
The eight stages for the 2010 Tour of Britain are:
• Stage 1 – 11 September – Rochdale to Blackpool (126km)
• Stage 2 – 12 September – Stoke-on-Trent to Stoke-on-Trent (160km)
• Stage 3 – 13 September – Newton to Swansea (150km)
• Stage 4 – 14 September – Minehead to Teignmouth (171km)
• Stage 5 – 15 September – Tavistock to Glastonbury (176km)
• Stage 6 – 16 September – King’s Lynn to Great Yarmouth (189km)
• Stage 7 – 17 September – Bury St Edmunds to Colchester (151km)
• Stage 8 – 18 September – The TfL London Stage (100km)

In other news...

Leatt appoints Bastian Dietz and Dain Zaffke to focus on MTB market

Leatt, the head-to-toe protective gear brand, has announced that it is reinforcing its team with …