Cyclists go head-to-head for BBC Sports Personality of the Year on Sunday. It's a phone vote, ring like mad on Sunday!

Cycling to beat boxing and F1 this weekend?

Cycling heroes will go up against stars from motor racing, boxing, tennis and swimming at this weekend’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

An unprecedented four cycling champions are up for the coveted award – including Nicole Cooke, Chris Hoy, Rebecca Romero and Bradley Wiggins.

The shortlist was first revealed last week and was put together by a panel of 28 sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.

The four cyclists face fellow Olympic winners Ben Ainslie and Christine Ohuruogu. Swimmer Rebecca Adlington also joins the list of finalists, with boxer Joe Calzaghe, tennis’ Andy Murray and Formula One champ Lewis Hamilton.

The show will be broadcast this Sunday (December 14th) at 7pm.

As there are four cycling candidates there’s a risk that cycle fans could vote for all four, splitting the vote. Instead, magazines such as Cycling Weekly and blogs have been calling for a united ‘cycling vote’ for Chris Hoy.

For those folks who want to spread their vote, Face Partnership, organiser of the Revolution track series, has created another voting form here. On this form it’s OK to vote for candiates other than Chris Hoy! Results will announced at the first Revolution of 2009, 11th January.

In other news...

Schwalbe tyres aims to expand Fair Rubber in its products 

German tyre brand Schwalbe has announced a commitment increase the share of Fair Rubber in …