New TfL board: cyclist-baiter out, “Car sick” author in

Lynn Sloman, author of "Car sick", has been appointed to the board of Transport for London. At the same time, Brian Cooke – a "strong Conservative" who baits cyclists on Twitter – was not reappointed to the board.

Dr. Sloman’s 2006 book is sub-titled "Solutions for our Car-Addicted Culture" and was published in 2006. She was formerly a board member of Cycling England, and is currently chair of Campaign for Better Transport.

Sloman’s appointment has been welcomed by transport activists. The Green Party’s Sian Berry – a London mayoral candidate in the election won by Sadiq Khan – tweeted: ‘This is brilliant news for London. [Lynn Sloman is] someone who knows how to shift travel to walking, cycling, buses."

Last year, Cooke kicked up a storm when he tweeted: "Cyclists … pay virtually nothing toward road funding."

TfL said Cooke was tweeting in a "personal capacity" not as a TfL board member. Cooke also called cycle campaigner a "rude lying cow."

Upon learning he would not be reappointed to the board, Cooke tweeted that Khan "wants to bring own rats in".

When Khan tweeted that "We must make it safer & easier for Londoners to cycle. Extending the #NSCycleSuperhighway will make a big difference," Cooke rehashed his earlier comments about cyclistrs when he tweeted "but who is going to pay for it. Not cyclists they never pay for anything."

Khan has appointed Val Shawcross CBE as Deputy Mayor, Transport and Deputy Chair of TfL. For her work on London Assembly’s transport committee she was awarded London Cycling Campaign’s ‘Cycling Champion of the Year’ in 2015. 

The other appointees to the board are:

Kay Carberry CBE
Assistant General Secretary of the Trades Union Congress from 2003 to 2016. She has also been a member of the Women and Work Commission and a Commissioner of the Equal Opportunities Commission, and the Equality and Human Rights Commission.

Greg Clark CBE
Former member of the London LEP Board, Chairman of the London Stansted Cambridge Consortium, member of the UK Ministerial Smart Cities Forum, member of the Crossrail 2 Growth Commission and the West Anglia Task Force.

Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson
Has competed in five Paralympic Games, winning 11 gold, four silver and one bronze medal. She has held 30 world records. She is also a Non-Executive Director of London 2017 Limited and has been a member of the National Disability Council and Senior Deputy Chair of the UK Lottery Award Panel. She was made a Dame of the British Empire in 2005 and was appointed to the House of Lords as a cross-bench peer in March 2010.

Michael Liebreich
Founder and Chairman of the Advisory Board of Bloomberg New Energy Finance, a research company which he founded in 2004 and sold to Bloomberg LP in 2009. He serves on various international bodies such as the Global Agenda Councils of the World Economic Forum and the UN Secretary-General’s High-Level Group on Sustainable Energy for All. He has an MA in engineering from Cambridge, an MBA from Harvard Business School, where he was a Harkness Fellow, and is a Visiting Professor at Imperial College. He is Chairman of St Mark’s Hospital Foundation and in 1992 was a member of the British Olympic Ski Team.

Dr Alice Maynard CBE
Member of public sector advisory groups and not for profit boards. She is the current Chair of the Independent Disability Advisory group for TfL.

Anne McMeel
Worked in the GLA as the Executive Director of Finance and Performance from 2001 to 2007 and Director of Resources in MPS from 2007 to 2012. She is currently on Arts Council England’s Performance and Audit Committee.

Dr Mee Ling Ng OBE
Board member of a Housing Association providing accessible housing to people with disabilities, and a board member of South Bank University. From 2002 to 2010 she was Chair of Southwark PCT NHS board. She has also been a non-executive director of Lewisham and Guy’s Mental Health Trust and South London and Maudsley Mental Health Trust. She was a councillor in Lewisham from 1986 to 2002.

Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE
Currently the CEO, President and Company Secretary of Association for Consultancy and Engineering (ACE). He co-chaired the National Infrastructure Plan Strategic Engagement Forum (NIPEF) and was appointed by the GLA as a member of the London Infrastructure Delivery Board. He is also chair of a Private Equity Investment Board.

Nina Skorupska CBE
CEOof Renewable Energy Association and on the board of Women in Science and Engineering Campaign. She was the first female power station manager for RWE npower in the UK before going on to be Director of Performance Improvement. She has also been responsible for delivery of Essent’s new clean energy developments.

Ben Story

Previous MD of CitiBank. He has over 25 years’ experience in financial advice and funding in the transport and industrial sectors. He was also involved in the corporatisation of TfL.

In other news...

ACT member Balfe’s Bikes begins rolling out Cytech apprenticeships across its stores

ACT member Balfe’s Bikes has started to introduce Cytech apprentices to its stores and upskill …