The best of the riders, brands and industry innovation gonged at the annual awards gala

Interbike Award winners revealed

Three cast members from the iconic 1979 cycling film “Breaking Away” met on stage and kicked off an incredible celebration of the cycling industry at the 2015 Interbike Awards Gala on Thursday, September 17th at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center.

Dennis Christopher (Dave Stoller), Jackie Earle Haley (Moocher) and Dennis Quaid (Mike) addressed the audience and posed with custom “Cutters” jerseys courtesy of Champion Systems, and a replica Masi road bike similar to the one used in the film. 

Hosted by comedy veteran Alonzo Bodden, the awards ceremony presented more than 35 winners with the coveted IB Award. The awards were distributed as follows: 

  • North American Road Cyclist of the Year (Male/Female)
  • North American MTB Cyclist of the Year (Male/Female)
  • International Cyclocross Rider of the Year (Male/Female)
  • International Cyclist of the Year – Male
  • International Cyclist of the Year – Female
  • North American Revelation Rider of the Year
  • International Ride of the Year
  • Mountain Bike of the Year
  • Mountain Product Innovation of the Year
  • People’s Upgrade Choice Award – Mountain
  • Best in Show Mountain
  • Road Bike of the Year
  • Road Product Innovation of the Year
  • People’s Upgrade Choice Award – Road
  • Best in Show – Road
  • BMX Product Innovation of the Year
  • BMX Athlete of the Year
  • E-Bike of the Year
  • Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Unit Turns
  • Highest Brand Profitablity to the LBS, Dollars
  • Best Service to the LBS
  • Best Brand Value to Consumers
  • Best Brand Value to the LBS
  • Best Distributor Service to the LBS
  • NBDA’s Signature Award
  • International Male Triathlete of the Year
  • International Female Triathlete of the Year
  • Triathlon Industry Leader of the Year
  • Next Generation Award
  • PlacesForBikes Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Best Urban/Lifestyle Shop
  • Best Pro Road Shop
  • Best Mountain Bike Shop
  • Best Women’s/Female Friendly Shop
  • 2015 Retailer of the Year
  • Megan Guarnier
  • Catharine Pendrel
  • Mathieu van der Poel
  • Chris Froome
  • Pauline Ferrand-Prevot
  • Rob Britton
  • Aaron Gwin
  • Pivot Mach 429SL
  • Schwalbe PROCORE Tubeless System
  • Bell Super 2R Helmet
  • Push Industries ELEVENSIX Rear Shock
  • Cannondale EVO Force
  • SRAM Force CX1
  • SRAM Force CX1
  • SRAM Red eTAP
  • The Subrosa Street Rail
  • Nic Long
  • Stromer ST2
  • Tifosi Optics
  • Lazer
  • Kona Bicycle Co.
  • Bern Unlimited
  • Specialized
  • Quality Bicycle Products
  • Efficient Velo Tools
  • Jan Frodeno
  • Gwen Jorgensen
  • Challenge Family
  • NICA (National Interscholastic Cycling Association)
  • Atlanta Beltline
  • Deb Hubsmith, Safe Routes To School
  • Bicycle Habitat – New York, NY
  • ATA Cycle – Concord, MA
  • Absolute Bikes – Salida, CO
  • Bryson City Bicycles – Bryson City, NC
  • Pedal Chic – Greenville, NC
  • Landry’s Bicycles – Boston, MA

Make it to the Outdoor Demo? Bikebiz has a gallery from Bootleg Canyon live here. A show floor product gallery will follow shortly once our tech hamster gets back on the wheel…

Next up, it’s the BikeBiz Awards, taking place on Wednesday evening at the Crowne Plaza next to Birmingham’s NEC. For tickets to the awards, click here.

In other news...

Mavic opens North American office to support sales and service

Mavic, the French manufacturer of bicycle wheels and equipment, has opened an office in Waterbury, …