Cycling’s golden couple vie for BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year

Laura Trott and Jason Kenny are two of the sixteen candidates for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2016. Fellow cyclist Dame Sarah Storey is also up for the award, as is Kadeena Cox (the cycling and athletics star).

The other stars on the list are: Sophie Christiansen, Jamie Vardy, Kate Richardson-Walsh, Nicola Adams, Adam Peaty, Danny Willett, Kadeena Cox, Max Whitlock, Alistair Brownlee (he’s one-third cyclist), Mo Farah, Gareth Bale, Nick Skelton, and Andy Murray.

The public will vote for their favourite by phone and online during the live show on 18th December. The awards will be presented in the Genting Arena in Birmingham.

Sir Chris Hoy won the award 2008. Mark Cavendish won in 2011 and Sir Bradley Wiggins won in 2012.

It’s likely the favourites will be Trott and Kenny. However, with four cyclists on the list – and a triathlete – cycling is already a winner, at least in terms of TV time.

But should there have been others on the list? What exactly will it take for the British mass media to wise up to the world-beating mountain biker Rachel Atherton, and let’s not forget that Chris Froome has now won three Tour de France titles.

In other news...

Wattbike appoints Greg Nieuwenhuys as chairman

Wattbike has announced the appointment of Greg Nieuwenhuys as chairman to help drive the company’s …