SRAM, Kona and more combine for UCI-registered Torq team

Brands team up for Torq

A host of brands have joined forces to sponsor the 2010 Torq team for national and international XC mountain bike, including SRAM, Kona, Avid, Met helmets, Schwalbe and Fizik, amongst others.

This year the team is fielding four UCI registered pro riders – Anthony O’Boyle, Tim Dunford, Ben Thomas and Andy Blair.

Kona marketing manager, Ben Gaby said: "Kona Bicycles is delighted to be working with the TORQ racing team again for the 2010 season. We believe the team has the correct balance of focus and approachability, with some exceptional athletes that can tackle the diverse 2010 events calendar."

Fisher Outdoor Leisure’s Steve Cromwell added: "As Britain’s highest profile mountain bike race team we felt it was the perfect partnership for our race winning SRAM Mountain bike products and MET helmets. We hope that by using SRAM XX drive chain, Avid Brakes and RockShox Sid forks, they can take their performances to another level."

In other news...

Danish software company Bikedesk expands to UK, aims to streamline bike store experience

Off the back of unprecedented success in Denmark, Bikedesk has announced it is expanding into …