Hey, it's only the shortlist so no champagne cork popping just yet but we're pretty chuffed (and surprised) here at BikeBiz towers...

BikeBiz shortlisted for Euro web awards

www.bikebiz.co.uk has been shortlisted for two gongs at the prestigious European Online Journalism Awards.

We have won through the first stage and have been shortlisted for:

Best use of mobile connectivity (that’s for our WAP site) – sponsored by Reuters

Business & Economics reporting sponsored by First Tuesday, the e-business meetings people

The presentation ceremony for the awards will take place on 6th July at

7.00pm at City University, Northampton Square, London EC1.

However, we will have to send a deputy because there’s a press trip in Amsterdam for the launch of IFMA Koln. News gathering has to come before Oscar acceptance speeches or shedding of tears as our competitors such as FT.com walk off with the awards!

According to the awards organiser, NetMedia, each entry is judged according to the following criteria:

* Strength of storyline

* Quality of writing

* Timeliness

* Effective use of the medium (e.g. appropriate links, multimedia inputs)

* Quality of multimedia inputs

* Innovation

* Structure and Navigation

* Interaction/Relationship building

* Visual Design /Functionality

The judges are top-flight and include:

* UK

Ben Rooney, Editor, Connected

Gordon MacMillan, Internet Editor, Haymarket Management Publications

John Naughton, Director, Press Fellowship Programme, Wolfson College, Cambridge; Internet Columnist, The Observer

Mike Bracken, VP, Production & Development, Chello.com

Annabel Colley, Web Site Producer, Panorama, BBC

Chris Condron, Group Editor, News & Sports, AOL UK

Bill Thompson, Internet Consultant

Jim McClellan, columnist, The Guardian

Robert Leedham, Managing Editor, New Media, Express Newspapers

Tony Durham, Web Editor, Times Higher Education Supplement

Mike Bracken, Production Director, chello broadband n.v.


Froukje Santing, Editor-in-Chief, NRC Handlesbslad Online

Jeroen van Bergeijk, freelance journalist

Koos Bloemsma, Editor-in-Chief, Wegener Dagbalden Apeldoorm

Jak Boumans


Nagyistuk Tibor, Science Editor, TV2

Andras Nyiro

Szilagyi Arpad, Editor-in-Chief, GameStar magazine

Endre Beky, Online Editor, Computerworld, IDG Hungary


Jan Thoresen, Project Manager, "db Medialab", Dagbladet

Paul Leveraas, Editor, Digi No

Arne Krumsvik, Publisher & CEO, "db Medialab", Dagbladet


Ari Heinonen, Research Director, Journalism Research & Development Centre, University of Tampere

Juhani Artto, Frelance journalist

Petteri Numminen, Online Editor, Helsingin Sanomat

Tomi Lindblom, Managing Editor, MTV3 Internet


Linda Overgaard, Manager, Online News, DR News Online

Ib Konrad Jensen, Manager, Login ApS

Kartin Hansen

Claus Solvesteen, Managing Editor, Politiken.db


Maider Perea Foronda, Online Editor, "Digital City", El Diario Vasco

Sergio Salvador, Noticias

Diego Cenzano, CEO, New Media Publishing

Jose Catalan Deus, Estrella Digital


Angelo Agostini, Editor-in-Chief, Problemi del L’informazione

Marco Pizzo, ICT Correspondent, PC Open

Caravita Giuseppe, IlSole 24Ore

Salvatore Romanolo, La Stampa


David Sharpe, AFP

Michel Colonna, New Media Director, Liberation

Christophe Agnus, President & Publisher, Transfert.net


Bart Bettens, Executive editor, PC Magazine


Jan Culik, Publisher, Britske Listy

Jeremy Druker, Director and Editor, Transition Online

Andrew Stroehlein, Editor-in-Chief, Central Europe Review


Jose Vitor Malheiros, Online Editor, Publico


Sava Tatic, M.D., Centre for Advanced Media Prague


Markus Bäuchle

Michael Kunze

Thomas Reimann, Editor-in-Chief, AOL Germany


Daniel Dougaev, St. Petersburg Times

In other news...

Andrew Dodd appointed as global brand communications manager at Mondraker

Former GMBN Tech presenter Andrew Dodd has joined Mondraker as global brand communications manager. Known …