Home / Business / UK Mountain Bike Hall of Fame 2013 nominees announced
Who made the list of hopefuls? Sadly, the UK's mountain biking pioneer didn't. Crazy, really. But what do you think?

UK Mountain Bike Hall of Fame 2013 nominees announced

Only ten nominees will make their way onto the UK Mountain Bike Hall of Fame this year, to be revealed at Mountain Mayhem this June.

Last year Pacific Edge Events created the UK MTB Hall of Fame in 2012 to recognise mountain bikers of all disciplines and also key figures in the mountain bike industry who have all made a significant contribution towards making mountain biking in the UK what it is today.

Rather unbelievably, the nominees don’t include Geoff Apps, who was mountain biking before it was mountain biking, who created a mountain bike before there were mountain bikes and who ran mountain bike events before there were mountain bike events. He remained an influential figure in the early days of UK mountain biking. Despite having support from MTB pioneer Gary Fisher, the US Mountain Bike Hall of Fame has yet to induct Apps but for the UK version not to include him is surprising in the extreme.

Voting is now open and closes Sunday June 2nd. The 2013 nominees are:

Martyn Ashton
Scott Beaumont
Oli Beckingsale
Steve Behr
Perry Bellisario
Michael Bonney
Adrian Carter
Jenny Copnall
Tim Davies
Dafydd Davis
John Dight
Gary Foord
Tim Greenland
Danny Hart
Martin Hawyes
Annie Last
Rob Lee
Tym Manley
Steve Toze
Geoff Waugh
Ian Weatherill
Steve Woods

This year Wiggle Mountain Mayhem will be held in a new location – Gatcombe Park on June 15th and 16th. The UK Mountain Bike Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony will take place at Gatcombe Park in the Mountain Mayhem main arena on Friday evening, June 14th.

For more information about MTB Hall of Fame or Wiggle Mountain Mayhem contact Patrick Adams on 01298 687 331.


Check Also

LEVA-EU organises e-bike dealer trip to China

The first LEVA-EU e-bike dealer trip to China is set to take place from 3rd …