The Mountain Bike Hall of Fame and Museum in Crested Butte, USA, is seeking nominations for the 2001 induction ballot. Nominees can be individuals or organisations who have made significant contributions to the sport of mountain biking. There are very few Brits in the current line up. Lets change that

Care to nominate any Brits for the MTB Hall of Fame?

The six nomination categories are Advocacy, Industry, Journalism,

Pioneers, Promotion, and Racing History. The nominees must have a history of at least ten years as mountain bikers.

Nominations must be a minimum of 250 words. Include in the narrative why you think this individual or group belongs in the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame.

You must include the nominee’s current address and phone number so the Hall of Fames organisers can obtain fuller biographical information about the candidate.

The nominees from the 2000 ballot not yet selected were all American.

The current members of the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame mostly Americans, until Europeans were introduced in 1999 are listed below.

But what about the following for a starter list of UK possibles: Richard Ballantine (for bringing in the first MTB to the UK), Drew Lawson, then of Muddy Fox (for being the first MTB marketeer, and who helped popularise the sport in the early days); Geoff Apps (for making MTBs before the Yanks ever thought of doing it!); Jason McRoy (for being Jason McRoy); Tym Manley and Chris Turner (for launching MBUK); the Hope boys (for taking coals to Newcastle); and Lester Noble and Steve Wade (for sticking to their guns).

The list goes on, but heres the official US roll-call:


Charlie Kelly

Jacquie Phelan

Charlie Cunningham

Joe Murray

Tom Ritchey

Gary Fisher

Joe Breeze

Mike Sinyard

Steve Cook



Erik Koski

Wende Cragg

Victor Vincente

Steve Potts

Jeff Lindsey

Don Cook


Tom Hillard

Cindy Whitehead

Chris Chance

Glen ODell

Ned Overend

Scot Nicol


Craig and Gary Cook

Ross Schafer

John Tomac

Carole Bauer-Romanik

Al Farrell

Mike Rust

Chuck Bodfish Elliot


Mark Slate

Gary Klein

Ed Zink

Fred Wolf

Tom Mayer

Sara Ballantyne


Otis Guy

Jimmy Deaton

Julie Furtado

Gary Helfrich

Alan Armstrong

Don Douglass

Charlie Litsky


Keith Bontrager

Douglas Bradbury


Ignaz & Frank Schwinn


Richard Cunningham

Zapata Espinosa

Kay Peterson-Cook

Junzo Kawai

Steve Ready


Marilyn Price

Kent Eriksen

Greg Herbold

The Cupertino Riders


Susan DeMattei

Mert Lawwill

John Parker


Jim Hasenauer

Max Jones

Dean Crandall

1999-European Induction

Thomas Frischknecht

Tim Gould

Mountain Bike Club Discovery

Paola Pezzo

Hans Rey

Regina Stiefl

Velo Cross Club Parisien, VCCP


Lind DuPriest

Keizo Shimano

John Stamstad

Steve Tilford

Dave Wiens

Contact: Kay Peterson-Cook, Don Cook

P.O. Box 845, Crested Butte, CO. 81224

A new website will be launched within the next two months. Deadline for nominations is April 15th, 2001.

In other news...

Leatt appoints Bastian Dietz and Dain Zaffke to focus on MTB market

Leatt, the head-to-toe protective gear brand, has announced that it is reinforcing its team with …